Runnophrenia

I promised a good post tonight, so here we go.

I am going to talk about my love for running, what clicked, how it’s changed me, and how it makes me feel.  Hopefully, by the time you finish reading this post, the running bug will bite you and you’ll be running the night like Havana Brown. 

By the way, that song does wonders for me.  Once I listen to it, I’m itchin’ to run.

I digress.

Prologue

I don’t know how many science classes you’ve taken, but there’s something called a “genetic predisposition.” Don’t know what that is?  I’ll break it down.  Basically, you have a disease.  You were born with it.  However, it doesn’t surface until later in your life.  Something in the environment you’re in triggers it.  Boom.  You have said disease.  For all you know, you could have schizophrenia.  Until something triggers it (i.e. stress) you will never know that you have it.

So, back to running. I believe I’ve always been a runner.  I think running is a disease, a good disease.  It wasn’t until the running disease (lets call it runnophrenia) triggered inside me and I’ve been a changed woman.

I think I got my first taste of running freshman year in high school.  My dad made me sign up for two sports that year (Volleyball was my passion at the time and Track & Field was just the other sport I chose to make him happy).  I chose the great sport of shotput and discus, because I’m lazy.  Not saying that athletes who play shotput and discus are lazy, but the people on my team certainly were and we all did everything but shotput and discus.  Anyways sometimes during track meets they’ll make us fielders run an event just for fun.  Like, 4 x 100 relay races.  Guess who always shined in these races? Me.  The track coach would tell my teammates that I was a natural runner.

FYI, this was the only year I did track & field.  Afterward, I wanted to solely focus on volleyball…and my parents were fine with it. (Big mistake.)

Fast forward.

I did NROTC freshman year in college so that kept me in shape.  But NROTC didn’t work out (another story for another day) and I pretty much led a sedentary life afterwards.  Spring semester of Sophomore year my dad encouraged me to do a 5K race with him.  Why not?  So I did it.  I did awful.  Threw up at the end.  I enjoyed the race though. But afterwards, I led another sedentary lifestyle and binge drank my way through junior year (not proud of that).

 

At this point you’re probably wondering, “Okay, well seems like she’s the Mitt Romney of running.  Always flip-flopping on it.” Point taken.  Bare with me though, I haven’t gotten to the part where I diagnosed myself with runnophrenia!!

Summer 2012.  The Summer of Change.

All I have to say about this summer was that the Olympics happened.  I couldn’t keep my eyes off of those runners.  They were AMAZING!  I wanted to be them.  I don’t think I missed any track events.  They were so mesmerizing to watch! It was also pretty hilarious to watch the slowed down video footage so you could see their face fat bounce up and down.

Anyways…

You might laugh at me for this but, I was so motivated to run.  So motivated, in fact, I signed up for three races (Two 5Ks and a 5-miler to be exact).  My peers kind of chuckled at my motivation for running.  But whatever.  Though I admit it was a silly way to get motivated and to get in shape but the Olympics are long over, and I’m still running. Why?  I love the way it makes me feel, both inside and out.

Let’s start with the aesthetics.

I’ve trimmed up.  Haven’t lost weight but I’m no longer flabulous.  I’m more muscular and I love the way I look.  I am no longer embarrassed to show my midriff.  Ask any of my friends and they’ll tell you I’ll lift my shirt and be like “LOOK AT THESE ABS! LOOK. AT. THEM.” True story.  Also, I can pull off “the runner look” quite well.  Love those running shorts!

How I Feel On The Inside

It’s really hard to describe but I’ll try.  I have more energy, I’m more optimistic, I can think clearer, and I can breathe easier.  When I run, I feel free.  I feel that these legs can take me anywhere.  I can honestly say I am a happier person and I HAVE to have my run everyday.  If I don’t run, my day will feel incomplete.

So there you have it, this summer was when I diagnosed myself with runnophrenia.  The Olympics were my environmental trigger and I haven’t been happier!

About livelyherbivore

My name is Bri and I am a 20-year old business student. I enjoy eating, running, and having fun! I hope you enjoy my blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment